The Cartographers

Helloooooo! I am back with another review. I read The Cartographers by Peng Shepard. I was very excited to read this book, and I was only a little disappointed. Overall, this book scored a 40 on my score, giving it 3 stars. Let’s get into it.

This does have spoilers!

Characters: 6

I liked some of the characters, and I loved the diversity of characters as well. However, I didn’t completely understand some of the character’s choices, especially Tamara. I feel like her choice to stay in Agloe could’ve gone a different way, and would’ve benefited Nell better too.

Atmosphere: 8

I actually really enjoyed the world building in this book! I really liked the way it was brought into the book slowly, which helped the reader!

Writing: 7

The dialouge was pretty good, however did feel like a YA book, which is fine! But was pretty consistant. My only problem here was the differing timelines. I did like the timelines, but it got a little confusing since the characters retelling story felt disjointed and too similar to differentiate.

Plot: 7

Again, I didn’t love some of the choices a few characters made, but the plot was just SO original, and I loved the magical realism. Also there’s FINALLY a character that when confronted with magic doesn’t immediately believe it. I hate when characters automatically believe it.

Intrigue: 7

I really liked the first half of the book, but got a little bored during the second, but still read as I wanted to know how it ended.

Logic: 6

Some characters had some flawed logic, but the logic of the story, and especially the logic hidden in maps makes lots of sense, which was very appreciated.

Enjoyment: 6

I liked it!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started