The Best & Worst Books I’ve read this year (so far)

Here are my favorite and least favorite books I’ve read this year!

Favorites

  1. The Song of Achilles
    1. This BOOK! Was so good. I loved it the second I read it. I struggled a little bit to figure out which of these books were my favorite, but I ended up with this one solely because I would 100% tattoo quotes from it on my body. I also love a good retelling so I would HIGHLY recommend.
  2. It Ends with Us
    1. This was a hard one to read, because of what it deals with, but I did love it. It was a beautifully, tragic story, but such an important one to tell. Colleen Hoover outdid herself on it. The ending gave me chills.
  3. Yerba Buena
    1. This is such a character driven book, and I think it was done wonderfully. The characters have so much life in them, and it was such an amazing queer story about growing up and falling in love.

Least Favorites

  1. A Court of Thorns and Roses
    1. The actual content and plot of this book was very good, but like I’ve said before, I never stand by abusers, fictional or not. You can see my full review on another post.
  2. Where the Crawdads Sing
    1. See above.
  3. They Both Die at the End
    1. I think the reason this book didn’t do it for me was simply because it didn’t live up to the hype I thought it would. I was so excited for this one and it let me down. I wish I could tell you why, but I can’t put it into words, I just didn’t love the plot.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started