A Fire Endless; A Review

THE BOOK:

East and West. Humans and Spirits. Breccans and Tamerlaines. The Isle of Cadence has always held itself and its residents in a tenuous balance. But now Bane, the spirit of the North Wind, has pushed everyone and everything in his path off-kilter in a bid to claim dominion over all.

In the West, Adaira struggles to adjust to the more brutal, bitter ways of life among the Breccans. Striving to find her place in the clan, she swiftly realizes that it just might be the last role she desires to hold. And while magic blooms effortlessly for the Breccans in the west, the spirits continue to suffer beneath Bane’s harsh power, felt in every gust of wind.

In the East, Jack is adrift without Adaira until he sings to the ember-weak fire spirits, acquiring a dangerous mission he never expected. One that is destined to lead him westward. Likewise, Torin and Sidra are consumed by a new mystery as sickness spreads first amongst the crops, and then to the people of the Tamerlaine clan. While Sidra desperately searches for a cure, Torin dares to strike a bargain with the spirits—a precarious folly anytime, but especially now as the days grow darker.

With the island falling further out of balance, humans and spirits alike will need to join together to face Bane, and Jack’s gift with the harp will be called upon once more. Yet no one can challenge the North Wind without paying a terrible price, and the sacrifice required this time may be more than Jack, Adaira, Torin, and Sidra can bear to pay.

THE REVIEW:

I received an ARC of this book from Harper Voyage via NetGalley, and I would like to thank them so much! I was so excited when I was approved and I am still reeling from finishing this book.

This is the second in The Elements of Cadence series. I read the first book after getting it from BOTM, and I absolutely adored it! After getting this copy of the second book, I devoured it super fast, and loved every minute.
What we knew of our main characters in A River Enchanted, was only built on, and they became even more dynamic and lovable. Jack, Adaria and Sidra especially went on such a journey in this book, and after this book, I love them even more. I wanted more from Frae and more from the sisters, but other than that it was great.
Again, the Isle of Cadence was magical! Just like in book one, the island was beautifully written and explained. I understood the atmosphere of this book, but there’s also a wonderful different between the descriptions of the East and West. I also want to point out, that the rules and logic of Cadence are perfectly explained, and I had hardly no questions while reading it. It was done extremely well, and I loved it.
I LOVE REBECCA ROSS’S WRITING! I will always love it. She has such a unique way of describing the characters, atmosphere, and plot, and I really really really love it. There’s not much else to say about that. I just love it so much.
I had no idea what to expect from the Breccan clan, but the plot exceeded my expectations. I loved how the lore played a big part again, in this book, and it was just so incredible to read.
Unlike the first book, I gobbled this one up. I read it super fast, but it was a long one. BUT I LOVED THIS BOOK. It’s rare to have the second book be better than the first, but I think this is one of those times.

Characters: 9
Atmosphere: 10
Writing: 10
Plot: 9
Intrigue: 8
Logic: 9
Enjoyment: 9
CAWPILE: 64
5 stars!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started