Daisy Jones and the Six Review

THE BOOK:

Daisy is a girl coming of age in L.A. in the late sixties, sneaking into clubs on the Sunset Strip, sleeping with rock stars, and dreaming of singing at the Whisky a Go Go. The sex and drugs are thrilling, but it’s the rock ’n’ roll she loves most. By the time she’s twenty, her voice is getting noticed, and she has the kind of heedless beauty that makes people do crazy things.

Also getting noticed is The Six, a band led by the brooding Billy Dunne. On the eve of their first tour, his girlfriend Camila finds out she’s pregnant, and with the pressure of impending fatherhood and fame, Billy goes a little wild on the road.

Daisy and Billy cross paths when a producer realizes that the key to supercharged success is to put the two together. What happens next will become the stuff of legend.

The making of that legend is chronicled in this riveting and unforgettable novel, written as an oral history of one of the biggest bands of the seventies. Taylor Jenkins Reid is a talented writer who takes her work to a new level with Daisy Jones & The Six, brilliantly capturing a place and time in an utterly distinctive voice.

THE REVIEW:
I want to start off by saying that this is my favorite book by Taylor Jenkins Reid. I loved this book from start to finish and it is 100% in my Top 10 favorite books ever written.

I loved every single one of the characters. The interview format made the characters even more lovable, as we got to see their own thoughts and ideas. Daisy Jones was fun to read, but Camilla was really the star of this book, and she was so well written. I can’t get over them!!
The writing was OUTSTANDING. It was so well written, and the added songs were just the final touch to make this book so good. The dialogue was interesting and kept me wanting more, and it genuinely felt like you were right along there with the band members.

I also felt like the plot was just perfect. I went into the book, thinking it was going to be about Billy/Daisy, but it was so much more. It showed the depth of Billy’s love for his wife, as well as a dynamic character fighting addiction. Billy and Daisy’s addiction stories were super well done, and very realistic. It was a great touch and added lots of elements to the story. Not to mention all the side stories going on around the band. There was a very good balance of everything going on and it was very logical, which I also enjoy and commend.

I had a little bit of a hard time getting into the story, with the format being so different from what I have experienced, but once I got used to it, I ended up adoring it. I think this story was told best with this format, and TJR used it to her advantage.

Overall, I loved this book. I liked the slight plot twist at the end, and I loved the story. I am so excited to see this on-screen and I hope it’s just as good as I think it will be!

CAWPILE:
Character: 10
Atmosphere: 9
Writing: 10
Plot: 9
Intrigue: 8
Logic: 10
Enjoyment: 10
TOTAL: 66
This book ties with The Song of Achilles and It Ends with Us as the highest rated books I’ve read this year!

5 stars!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started